Skip to content

Where I’ve Spent My Summer

October 1, 2011
My Balcony Office

My Balcony Office

I know I’ve been missing in action for a while so I thought I’d let you know where I’ve been spending my summer: on my balcony writing! I’m so lucky, I have a lovely south facing balcony several stories above the street. There’s no buildings across from me so I have a great view of the city.

The last few years I’ve been planting a vegetable garden in pots on my balcony. Because of the southern exposure, all my plants thrive, even in the small space. This summer I’ve planted carrots, mint, basil, oregano, chives, cucumbers, yellow beans, lettuce and cherry tomatoes. Some of these have been wildly successful, others not so much. The cucumbers started out strong, sending out long tendrils of plants, tons of little yellow flowers blooming everywhere but they’ve now faded.

My Vegetable Garden

My Vegetable Garden

Although I love the fall, I’m sorry to see the warm weather go. I now have to move my writing indoors but I look forward to next summer and more balcony writing in my future!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

