Skip to content

Whadya mean it’s not Halloween?

June 13, 2011

So it’s June and I’ve been totally slacking on my blog. But that doesn’t mean I’ve been slacking elsewhere. I am continuing to write every day and in fact just this past weekend, passed the total number of words I wrote last year. It only took me five and a half months to zoom past what I wrote in nine months last year! Hooray!

I’ve also attended some writing workshops and made it to this year’s Midwest Haunters Convention (MHC) in Columbus! And what is that? I know you’re just dying to know! MHC is a trade show and convention for haunters, folks who either decorate their home for Halloween or run a commercial haunted attraction to scare the crap out of people at Halloween. It’s an altruistic goal.

Vamping it up at MHC

On Saturday night, they hold a masquerade. People dress up in incredible costumes. The creativity and dedication is amazing. I’m in awe of their craftsmanship and imagination. At the tradeshow, one of the makeup booths offered free face painting. I decided to have them do my makeup this year and stood in line for over an hour as the makeup artists crafted different and interesting creations on people’s faces. It never took them longer than twenty minutes at the most to create spectacular effects.

When I sat down, Nick, the makeup artist, asked what I was looking for. I told him I wanted to be a vampire but none of that sparkly crap. Oh and add some blood.

He certainly took up the challenge!

Afterward, all I needed was some fangs, my contacts and my dress, then I was ready for the party.

Sorry for the blood splatter, I’ve always been a messy eater!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

