Skip to content

Blasting Off (for Hell)!

February 15, 2011

Evidence I'm going to hell.

Well, okay, not exactly blasting but I’ve had a few sales on both Kindle and Smashwords. It’s a wonderful feeling to be able to reach readers and hope they enjoy my stories. This is a beginning. Slow and steady will win in the end, and I’m nothing if not persistent!

I believe in the long tail. I believe that eventually if I keep writing enough, improving my work, getting it out there, readers will find it and love it. It may not happen today or tomorrow but it will happen.

It reminds me of my absolute favourite response I ever received on one of my stories. It was a writing critiquing class. All the students had to bring in a story for critiquing, making sure to have hard copies of their story for everyone. Over the weeks, we reviewed about two stories per class with the students returning their copies with comments, notations and suggestions. As a horror writer, I brought in a horror story called “Old MacDonald Had a Farm.” Several students liked it, several had helpful suggestions but one old woman had a definite opinion about it.

The evening of the class, she sat across from me, clenching the papers in her fist, glaring at me. As the other students talked, she seemed to get more agitated. I wasn’t quite sure what to make of it. Finally she burst out that I was going to hell! She was disgusted and incensed about my story. How could I write such a thing? Who would ever read this? I had to be sick and depraved to write this and I was definitely going to hell for it. The teacher, a horror writer herself, could not dissuade the woman that this was the genre. It was supposed to be a horror story. It was supposed to be unnerving. The woman would not be convinced. I was going to hell.

I’m thinking she wasn’t a fan of Stephen King.

I didn’t let her response deter me. In fact, I was quite thrilled with it. I had gotten a reaction, hell, the biggest reaction anyone got in that class! Eventually that story sold and it’s now available again on Kindle and Smashwords.

If that old woman is out there, I want her to rest assured.

I’m still goin’ to hell!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2011 8:48 pm

    Wonderful wonderful wonderful! Thats what horror is all about isn’t it? A reaction 🙂 I would love to read some of your work sometime!

    • February 15, 2011 9:25 pm

      I agree! It’s all about getting a reaction.

      I’ve got several of my horror short stories on Smashwords and Kindle. Check out the links on the right! Thanks for visiting and commenting! Be careful though, you might be going to hell for agreeing with me! 🙂

  2. E. M. Jenkinson permalink
    March 7, 2011 12:17 pm

    I would have been in the same boat. I recently just revised a short story I wrote about five or six years ago as a “Halloween” assignment. I remember when we had to share it with the class, my teacher loved it. In fact, she wanted me to read it a second time. The students… on the other hand… they weren’t as thrilled.

    • March 7, 2011 12:21 pm

      Sounds like you got it right on both counts, someone who loved it and others who were disturbed by it. That’s what horror is all about!

      Except now you’re probably headed down to hell too! See you there!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Blasting Off (for Hell)! « Rebecca M. Senese -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

