Skip to content

Busy on the eBook Front

February 12, 2011

In the Walls: A Horror Short Story

I just finished formatting and uploading my last short story eBook “In the Walls.” Whew! It’s a lot of work doing this eBook thing, making sure I’ve got the formatting right for two separate sites, Smashwords and Amazon Kindle. They are both just different enough to make it a challenge. Creating a cover and then writing up what I hope is an interesting and enticing blurb. It’s more work than writing the story itself! And you know what else?

It’s fun!

I’m having a blast converting my previously published short stories into eBooks and putting them up. No longer will they languish on my hard drive after having sold once, been available for reading for a month or two and then vanished. This new world of eBooks gives new life to stories again. And I believe it will give new life to all lengths of fiction.

Novellas are one of the most difficult forms of fiction to sell on the traditional market. There are just so few places that will take anything longer than 15,000 words and the “official” length of a novel starts at 40,000 words but that’s a short novel. Now these forgotten gems can have new life in eBooks.

This really is the most exciting time to be a writer – and a reader!

Well, that’s enough of a break. Time to get back to my formatting and fun!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2011 1:42 pm

    I recently started converting my previously published short stories into ebooks for Amazon and Smashwords, and wrote up my experience in a blog post.

    http://blog.cdreimer.com/2011/02/10/the-fiction-reprint-market-is-dead/

    I find it easier to do the Smashwords version of the ebook first according to their free style guide, and make minor changes for the Amazon version by replacing references to Smashwords with Amazon, regular text is 11 point and header text is 18 point. The formatting conventions as listed for Amazon ebooks can be a pain in the neck to follow. I’ve done a half-dozen ebooks without problems from either Amazon or Smashwords.

    • February 12, 2011 4:25 pm

      I agree, C.D., Smashwords does have an easier format to learn. I have to admit I now cheat! I use my previously formatted stories, resave and replace the body.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Busy on the eBook Front « Rebecca M. Senese -- Topsy.com
  2. Rebecca Senese Seizes the Day | Publishing Online

Leave a Reply

