Skip to content

A Little Help From My Friends

August 19, 2010

There are some days that no matter what, I just don’t feel like writing. Usually I can get myself going and get some work done. But this night wasn’t like that. I’d been out with some writing friends, catching up and chatting. I got home later in the evening and after a drink, felt rather mellow and wanting to just relax. But I hadn’t written yet that day. I’d left it, telling myself I would be inspired after meeting with friends. I was inspired and I was also drowsy.

What to do? I sat in front of my computer and posted how I really didn’t want to write but was going to on Twitter. A few minutes later, another writer friend commented, asking if I needed a kick in the ass. And I gave a resounding YES!

Help!

He delivered, telling me how much he’d written earlier that day and how he was going to write another 300 words. Then came the challenge: Would I write 300 words too?

Then another friend chimed in, giving me the written equivalent to THAT look. You know the one I mean, the one you get from your mother. Yes, that one.

Both of these were just the incentive I needed. I got to work and before I knew it, I had written 411 words, pushing my running total past 69,000 words since April 6th. I was elated! And all because my friends had pushed me when I was ready to slack off. With their encouragement and challenge, I pushed myself just that little bit harder, just a little bit longer.

Writing is so solitary and sometimes it’s easy to forget to ask for help. Heck, it doesn’t have to be just writing that any of us forget to ask for help. And yet asking for help is a gift to the person you ask. It says “I trust you and respect you and know you can assist me.” It also gives the helper a chance to feel good because giving someone genuine help does feel good.

So I’m going to ask for more. I’m going to give my friends the gift of being able to help me, just as they so often give me the gift of asking for my help. And I’m sending out props to my friends Andy and Al for challenging me and supporting me.

How are you asking for the help that you need?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Lauren permalink
    August 19, 2010 11:42 pm

    You’re so right. What a great post. Everyone can use a little encouragement. That’s actually part of the reason I like collaborations so much. Writing is very solitary and it’s nice to have someone else to share in the journey with you. That’s also one reason I have found myself really enjoying the #amwriting community on Twitter. So many writers out there that I would never have talked to otherwise.

    • August 20, 2010 12:06 am

      Thank you, Lauren! I agree, I love the #amwriting community on Twitter as well. Seeing others working, striving and succeeding is so inspiring.

  2. August 19, 2010 11:45 pm

    No worries. Maybe you can return the favour sometime when I am lacking in the motivation department.

    Next time we’ll have to try some “word sprints”. See who writes the most words in a given period of time. Now there is motivation!

    • August 20, 2010 12:07 am

      “Word sprints!” Yikes! Gulp, I’m up for it. We’ll do that some time. Thanks again, Andy!

  3. August 20, 2010 1:48 am

    Hi there! I loved this post! I am just starting out in the wonderful world of writing and have been lucky enough to find a co-author. It is soooo much easier when you know you are not alone! Also, he makes sure that I am not slacking, and vice versa! Good luck with your word totals. Saffy. x

    • August 20, 2010 8:18 am

      Thank you, Saffy. Having a co-author is definitely one way to go. It must be great to have someone to bounce ideas off of and to keep you motivated. That is certainly another option for writers!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention A Little Help From My Friends « Rebecca M. Senese -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

