Skip to content

My Challenge Update

August 2, 2010
tags:

Wow, two posts in one day. I’m on a roll!

On May 4, I talked about the challenge I gave myself on April 6. I was going to write 70,000 words by the end of the year. Now it’s time for an update! How am I doing?

The short answer: really well! So well in fact, that I’ve revised this challenge twice! At the end of June, I was already at 40,000 words so I revised my goal up to 90,000. At the end of July, I realized that even 90,000 was going to be too easy. I had already reached 58,595. So I’ve revised my goal again. Now I’m going to write 100,000 by the end of the year.

My Writing Goals spreadsheet

When I first started in April, I never would have thought I would be writing so much. Originally I thought of setting the goal for 90,000 words but that seems too daunting. I didn’t think I could do it. The idea seemed so big it felt paralyzing. But now, just shy of 60,000 words, writing another 40,000 doesn’t seem hard at all. I’ve grown into the goal by doing just a little bit everyday.

That has also been a surprise, writing every day. Originally I thought I’d write maybe five days a week and take a bit of a break. Those breaks never materialized and the longer I go the less I want to take a break, even if I’m not in the mood. There have definitely been days when I didn’t feel like writing. I just want to veg on the couch or relax on the balcony with a book. But if I haven’t written yet, it nags at me. I’ve got a streak going. I can’t give that up just because I’m feeling lazy. Besides, it’s only half an hour, maybe 45 minutes. Come on, I can do that. Then before I know it, I’m sitting in front of my keyboard, writing.

Now I’m working on maintaining an average of 500 words a day. So far that’s working. However, maybe it’s time to push a little harder. Maybe I’ll aim to start averaging 600 words a day. I don’t want to get too comfortable! A challenge should be challenging, right? What have you challenged yourself to do lately?

Oh and before you ask, yes this is a screenshot of my Excel spreadsheet that I use to track my writing.  I’ve got it set up to add the running total and subtract from what I have left to write to hit 100,000 words. I am that anal!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2010 2:52 pm

    Inch by inch, everything’s a cinch.
    Yard by yard, it’s twice as hard.

    Least that’s what I’ve always heard.
    I also hear pidgeons though…so yeah…

    • August 2, 2010 3:00 pm

      “Inch by inch, everything’s a cinch” – I like that! I really believe in breaking things down into small pieces. Make it as easy as possible to win. That kind of positive reinforcement is more inspiring and motivating than constantly berating myself to do more.

      It took a long time to learn that since I was raised Catholic! LOL!

      Oh, and what secrets are the pigeons conveying?

  2. August 2, 2010 3:26 pm

    Their words usually die deep in their throat. Muffled by city life, I guess.
    I do sometimes hear one say, “Bombs Away!” as I walk passed.
    Or “there’s a fat one Louie, give him the business!”
    My sister was raised Catholic. She called it the original Scared Straight program.

Leave a Reply

