Skip to content

Me and Bony Pete at Bloody Words X

May 30, 2010

This weekend, I attended Bloody Words X, a Canadian convention for mystery writers and readers, held in Toronto. Guests of Honour were Deon Meyer, International Guest of Honour, and Giles Blunt, Canadian Guest of Honour. Linwood Barclay was the Master of Ceremonies for the Saturday night banquet. Some of the interesting panels I attended were CSI: Toronto, Private Investigators: Fact and Fiction, Libraries: An Author’s Best Friend, Beyond the First Novel and Short & Sweet, Fast & Deadly: Short Stories. The panels were lively and interesting with some great banter by the panelists and comments from the audience.

But the highlight for me came Saturday night at the banquet. I had entered a science fiction/crime story in the Bony Pete contest. The criteria for the contest was the story had to be 5,000 words or less, be a crime/mystery, and mention Toronto. Although my story was a crime story it has a heavy dash of science fiction and I assumed it would be passed over for more typical fare.

Delighted with my first Bony Pete win!

Imagine my shock when “Download Complete” took third place for the Bony Pete!

After my name was called, I remember walking up the aisle, grinning like an idiot, to pick up my certificate. It still surprises me that I didn’t stumble or trip! My hands trembled so much holding the certificate up for the official photo that I wonder if the certificate will show up blurred! Even now I have to keep looking at it to see that it’s real.

I am honoured to have my story recognized. Cross genre fiction can be a challenging form and a tough sell. I am thrilled it was so highly regarded to garner a spot for the Bony Pete.

Now to sell “Download Complete!”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2010 1:51 pm

    Congratulations!

    • Rebecca permalink
      August 2, 2010 2:20 pm

      Thank you! It was a huge thrill!

Leave a Reply

