Skip to content

The Challenge

May 4, 2010
tags:

On April 6, I decided to challenge myself to write 70,000 words by the end of the year. I wanted to pick a goal that would feel challenging and doable. I’ve written that much and more in a year, although it has been a while since I was that consistent. I want to get back to that consistency again and I thought this kind of challenge would inspire me.

I decided on this goal after reading Dean Wesley Smith’s blog post about writing speed here. I loved how it broke it down into numbers, numbers that felt achievable to me. In another post, he mentions writer Pati Nagle who has been writing 500 words every day – for six years! She’s written twelve books in that time and is going strong.

I love hearing stories like this, stories of small steps taken consistently. It is amazing what can be accomplished by doing just the small thing on a regular basis. I walk four miles to work every day, and have done so for over 10 years. My mileage is the equivalent of walking across Canada three times!

Since I started this challenge, I have not missed a day of writing. Most days I write around 500 words, although a few days have been less and several days have been twice that. For now, my goal is to write everyday this year and make it past 70,000.

I’m on my way!

(P.S.  I am not counting these blog posts!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. rona permalink
    May 6, 2010 1:29 am

    LOVE. THAT. YOU. ARE. DOING. THIS. done. period. the best. Im re-inspired. I need to get back to mine!

  2. Rebecca permalink
    May 6, 2010 5:26 pm

    Do it, Rona! Take the first step and challenge yourself. Come back and tell me how you’re doing with it!

Leave a Reply

